Please take a moment to ponder or meditate on these powerful verses:

Image

The combination of these verses makes a powerful confession! I came upon them this morning during my study time and they made such an impression on me, mostly because I have been having trouble with my faith walk recently. I had come to a point where I cried out to God asking what was wrong with me. Jesus taught that if anyone has faith as small as a mustard seed he shall say to this mountain ‘move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible to you (Matthew 17:20). Surely I had faith as small a mustard seed (in fact, bigger than that I hope), so why was the mountain not moving?

I felt discouragement coming over me. But then the Holy Spirit reassured me that I do have faith; the measure of faith that is dealt to every believer (Romans 12:3). He told me that my faith was being hindered and contaminated by the terrible triplets, namely fear, doubt and unbelief. That knowledge led me to a study on these three forces of darkness of which I will not go into detail about on this post, but suffice it to say that I realised that I must fight against these forces because if I didn’t, I would receive nothing from God; not his promises, not answers to prayer, nothing!

It was at this point this morning that I came across these verses and the Holy Spirit caused me to see them in a new light. The battle is already won! Christ disarmed the powers and authorities of darkness! He triumphed over them by the cross! All I have to do is to believe the finished work he did, claim it and appropriate it in my life! That entails meditating on these scriptures until they saturate my spirit. That means confessing them regularly and especially when I feel these spirits rearing their ugly heads again.

I hope these scriptures help you as much as they are helping me. Whatever mountain, giant, or problem you may be facing, I believe that as you meditate and ponder these scriptures, you will see that they are not above God’s power. No power is above the power of our God. There is no problem too big, too hard or impossible for him to fix. Jesus said he came that we may have life and have it to the full (John 10:10). There reason why we are not walking in that abounding, full life is because there is an enemy who is set on hindering us along the way. But praise God the Son of God was manifested that he might destroy the works of the devil in our lives so that we can live the life that Jesus Christ died to give us (1 John 3:8b)!

I have come to a point in my life where it is no longer enough to read, ‘believe’ and confess the Word of God; I want to see it manifest in my life! Just as the Word became flesh, I want the word in me to become what I need in the physical; for what is seen was not made of what was visible (Hebrews 11:3).  And the only way to see that happen is for the scriptures to come alive in my spirit first, by constantly thinking about them, meditating on them until they become more real to me than my current circumstances. No wonder God instructed Joshua to ‘keep this book of the law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night…then you will be prosperous and successful.’    

I know I have touched on different issues on this post, and have taken you from pillar to post (which is one thing a writer is advised never to do) but I have done this as I feel led by the Spirit, who most times defies logic and protocol. But I would like to leave you with the reminder that Jesus Christ fought the battle for us and won it on our behalf on the cross. Therefore let us not allow the devil to fool around with us and rob us our rightful inheritance. Let us claim our victory through the Word! When we feel the attack of the enemy coming, we must remind him of his shame when he was made a public spectacle of by the cross and see him tucking his tail between his legs and scamper away! He may not yield the first, second, or maybe the tenth time we rebuke him with the word, but we must keep on, until he gets the message!

 

Stay blessed!

